2nd Platoon are now standing at ease.

January 1, 2008

Yay, 2nd Platoon are finished. As is the third mortar which functions as a small to medium power mortar.

More importantly, the two Sd.Kfz 251/1’s are done. These are ESCI kits that I bought pre-assembled (part of a deceased estate) and decided to test my vehicle painting skillz on, as I need to develop mad skillz.

Each of these ESCI kits comes with two crew: a bloke standing upright and clutching binoculars, and a bloke who mans the forward machine gun. I decided to utilise these guys as FAO’s – Forward Artillery Observers, whom are lucky enough to be motorised. I’ve provided a photo of the two vehicles together: Completed 251/1C’s, representing FAO’s .

The New Year finds me just finishing another two FAO’s, whom are classed as being on foot (even though I’ve depicted them with horses on their base); getting close to finishing the Opel Blitz and being about 2/3 of the way through the Marder III. The Marder is really complicated and intricate as a kit – perhaps too much so. The complete gun mechanism and all wheels and aiming devices must be glued onto it – so I’ve had to do some vehicle research to work out exactly what I’m meant to be doing! Yes, the instructions provided by UM (UM Model) aren’t so wonderful. A picture may be worth a thousand words, but right now I’d rather the 1000 words, even if the translation from Ukranian isn’t so good.

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day have both been pretty damn uncomfortable (in fact, damn stinking hot), so again work has slowed right down. With my telephone line causing frequent modem dropouts (3 times as I write this alone!) even researching and catching up with others and thier ideas and progress has been poor.

Where to from here? I want to get both the Marder III and the Opel Blitz finished. Then I can do the others in both of these vehicles more quickly. Once I’ve got those others underway, I’ll start on 3rd Platoon and the Company HQ bases, so that this company of infantry on foot are finished.

One Response to “2nd Platoon are now standing at ease.”

  1. […] 15, 2008 It was New Year’s Day when I last updated you properly about the infantry I’ve been doing alongside the AFVs and vehicles. It seems like it’s taken forever to do […]

Leave a Reply

