Kit management

July 20, 2008

I finally finished applying the Doug Chaltry technique to the tracks of the Opel Maultiers as well as a SdKfz 11 halftrack that I got when I bought ESCI’s “Don: the long retreat” 1/72 scale diorama set. I bought that diorama set new from a little shop I know. I bought it in order to get the KV-1 and Russian Infantry out of it, as back then I was going to be playing Russians. Instead, I’ve ended up playing Germans, so I’ve ended up using everything out of that diorama set, as it also held German Infantry, the SDKfz 11 and an Opel Blitz (which you’ve already seen and read about earlier).

I’ve also being painting up a Hasegawa Schwimmwagen I picked up last month at that swap-n-sell I went to. It’s a fun little vehicle and I even successfully kitbashed an extra rest/brace for the LMG, after ruining the first brace, successfully improvising a replacement, then making a second brace. It’s been well coated with Desert Yellow – today I was beginning the detail, being the seat covers, tyres, LMG and canvas canopy. I was originally going to do the interior with Kommando Khaki – many German AFVs had light buff tan interiors, according to Panzer Colours 1 by Culver & Murphy (Squadron/Signal pubs.), but this is not really an AFV, so I just made it Desert Yellow as per the exterior.

I’m beginning to digress – with those Maultier tracks finished, I was able to begin working on the rest of the vehicles, touching up the exterior Desert Yellow including fine detail spots, then fix the Bestial Brown job on the tray. The tarpaulins on the back got Catachan Green, but will have a patchy Desert Yellow coat applied, to represent the spraypainting of tarpaulins.

All this piecework means that I have lots of kits on the go, as I can only do a little work on each, then leave them for periods to dry properly. With it being winter here, drying periods are longer. So, I’ve decided to have lots of things on the go, rather than just working in five minute spurts two or three times a day, which I feel wastes the rest of my leisure time. Thus, today I opened up four of those Revell Tiger I Ausf. E’s and washed the sprues, to prepare them for undercoating and assembly. I’ve also being working on some more scenery. I was given a couple of Fujimi 1/76 kits for my recent birthday by the mighty President of Nunawading Wargames Association. I can use some more houses – I’d love to do a skirmish between infantry companies in a sizeable village, with lots of house-to-house combat…so I’ve been having to mix up some brick colours to match the ruins from the tragic town of Oradour, which I’m using as my reference point.

So, I’ve got a Schwimmwagen, Schwimmwagen driver, 3-ton SdKfz 11 halftrack, three Opel Maultiers, two houses all on the go, with four washed Tiger sprues drying out. Time management? Sort of. I prefer “kit management”.

4 Responses to “Kit management”

  1. Andrew said

    Hello

    Do you know what has happened to the website On The Way – it appears to have been replaced by some payment website. Is there a new link to On the Way?

  2. Eastern Funker said

    Hello Andrew,
    this has happened once before when the website changed hands from Doug Chaltry to another gent, about a year ago. From what I remember, the new owner was with a different ISP and had other commitments, so it had to change website addresses and took a few months before it was up again – and meanwhile the old site did something like what’s happening now. Perhaps the current owner has let his payments lapse?
    I use and love the site – I’ll keep checking in about it and try to update my links here when I can.
    Thanks for alerting me to it!

  3. Eastern Funker said

    Hello Andrew,
    you can find the archived site here:
    http://web.archive.org/web/20070510065315/http:/www.ontheway.org.uk/
    however not all of it got archived…

    If you’re looking for what I call “The Doug Chaltry technique”, this is the link:
    http://web.archive.org/web/20061108185950/www.ontheway.org.uk/articles/painting2.htm

    Henk of Holland spotted this news over at missing-lynx:
    http://www.network54.com/Forum/47210/

    Hope that helps!

  4. Andrew said

    Thanks for all your help

Leave a Reply

