Some colour comparisons…some of my colour cards

May 31, 2009

Here are three of the colour cards I made just before Christmas, when I purchased and sampled the new Citadel Foundation Paints.

There are two thick layers of paint, each layer applied after 24 hours, onto matt white sheet styrene.

Test cards

I’ll start with the final set: which are, from left to right,  Calthan Brown, Charadon Granite,  Knarloc Green and Orkhide Shade. I’m quite partial to the Orkhide Shide for river/pond/lake/marsh/swamp work.

The top is to illustrate the difference between Adeptus Battlegrey and Astronomicon Grey. I was spending a good time of time over the greys, as I was hoping that Citadel may have finally made an “off the shelf” German dark grey.

At this stage, the Adeptus Battlegrey was looking pretty good – then I compared it to my home-made dark grey…which is the middle pair.

Really, either could do…

but when I look at pictures like this one, this one, this one, this one (a heavy influence on my decision) and lastly this one (the confirming photo) – then I’m pretty happy with my home-made dark grey (a simple blend of two Citadel colours) and a good drybrushing to represent dust over it.

Leave a Reply

