Bigger post tomorrow…for now, more colour cards and Hob-e-tac

June 27, 2009

Having searched fairly extensively using my librarian skills to find samples of the new Citadel pre-mixed Washes and failing frustratingly, I bought the three I thought I’d need and made my own colour card, thus: New Citadel pre-mixed washes

So, there they are – Devlan Mud, Ogryn Flesh and Gryphonne Sepia. They have been applied in differing layers of thickness – from left to right, one layer, then two, finally three.

My colour card for Citadel’s Chestnut Ink, Brown Ink & Flesh Ink (R.I.P.) : Old Citadel inks

Guess I’ll have to adapt to the new pre-mixed Washes…but those Inks were good because they were handy both at full strength and watered down! I can’t make those Washes full strength. Might be time to start looking elsewhere for Inks.

Have had a go using Hob-e-tac for some scenery projects (not for WWII, though). I used it in a warm room – followed the instructions to the letter by applying it and then waiting 15 minutes before applying what I wanted to stick down (coarse turf, in this instance). I didn’t use the brush included in the tube, it was far too broad for my project. I used an old fine-gauged paintbrush instead to spread it.

It became tacky exactly as outlined – very tacky! Warning – try not to let it get stuck onto your fingers, or you’ll be carrying little bits of terrain on them across projects. A good soaping and then scrubbing in hot water solved the problem. Today, 24 hours after application, I went back to those projects to prepare them for final sealing tomorrow…that stuff remind me a little of silicone sealant, you can easily carve or scrape away the excess but without disturbing the paint underneath! Nifty.

Tomorrow will be a big update. The destroyed T-34/85 terrain piece will be finished and I’ll also be moving on with those hills I started. I’ll be starting work on those kits I bought at the Swap & Sell earlier this month, too – it’s time to have some scouting/recon units as well as big tanks.

6 Responses to “Bigger post tomorrow…for now, more colour cards and Hob-e-tac”

  1. jimmoyz said

    hi
    I was mixing around with paints trying to make chestnut ink (because I don’t have it and now cannot buy it) and I found a very similair colour to chestnut ink (from you ink samples). Itn is a mix first of 33 % each of scorched brown, blood red and snakebite leather. Then once mixed with about 2 dabs of paint to abut one soaked up dry brush. I could not work out how much water exactly is need.

    Hope this helps

    • Eastern Funker said

      Thanks very much for your recipe! The brown inks are the only other inks I’m going to try to replicate, as I didn’t use any of the other ones.
      Scorched Brown, Blood Red and Snakebite Leather in equal proportions, then suitably diluted with water…well, that is where experimentation comes in, and this upcoming Summer will be the perfect time for it.
      Have a look at Trying to make my own Citadel Black Ink – you can see my experimentation to get black there, and indeed, it was the amount of water that is most important.
      I’ll lay in extra pots of paint and be sure to let you all know how it goes! Thanks Jim!

  2. […] was struck by the section where he discusses Hob-e-tac. Last Winter I discussed my experience with Hob-e-tac. I’ve used it since then a few more times and felt that their instructions of use […]

  3. […] Ink at a sale, I decided that using a little of it in order to make my own ink was an urgent task. I’ve written earlier about Citadel changing their inks. I’m not impressed with their decision to only sell very-watered down inks – you can […]

  4. […] I won on E-Bay some time ago). I’ve mentioned using Hob-e-tac a number of times before, with this post, this post and lastly this post as the most important posts to date. I’ve taken it up again […]

  5. […] and call it quits. Having looked at my homemade ink charts (the relevant ones for this post being available for you to view here), I decided to select Gryphonne Sepia. I gave the house as even a coating as possible, and just a […]

Leave a Reply

