A Kubelwagen, a 251/22, a 263 and a 234/3 walk into a bar…

October 18, 2009

Tankograd had four more come off the production line. Here they are:

251 234 263 and Kubel

From left to right: a Hasegawa Sd. Kfz. 251/22, a Hasegawa Sd. Kfz. 234/3, a Hasegawa Kubelwagen and lastly a Roden Sd. Kfz. 263. The Kubelwagen comes from the Hasegawa ‘Kubelwagen & BMW Side-car’ kit (MT-12) – the rest are stand-alone kits.

The 251/22 was a great kit to complete. The only trouble I had was with assembling the mount for the PaK 40 anti-tank gun. I included a loader holding a PaK 40 shell – he comes from the Italeri “PaK 40 AT gun with servants” kit. The PaK 40 shell is tipped in black – designating it as an AP shell.

The 234/3 was straightforward and lots of fun. Nearly all my comments about the Hasegawa 234/2 apply to it. I included a loader for it too, another figure from the Italeri “PaK 40 AT gun with servants” kit. That particular figure is sitting down andjusting the gun elevation, so he is molded with an elevation wheel in his left hand. I cut it out and glued a PaK 38 shell there in its place – the shell being surplus from the Roden PaK 38 kits I did some time ago. That shell was tipped with white, designating it as HE.

The Kubelwagen was problematic. I painted up the driver seperate to the rest of the vehicle – and then couldn’t fit him into place once he was finished. The steering wheel had to be removed; the machine gun mount and machine gun mount supports had to be re-done (and new supports kitbashed from leftover parts from old sprues). I learned my lesson – glue any drivers into place first and then paint, which is what I’m doing with the ICM Krupp truck.

The Roden 263 wasn’t too hard. I think their decals didn’t work so well for this kit. The large aerial overhead frame was fiddly but turned out OK. There was also a bit of flash on the sprues that needed some careful scalpel-work.

The Kubelwagen and the 263 got standard Dark Grey with heavy dust coats, for the start of “Barbarossa”:  263 and Kubel front 263 & Kubel rear

The 251/22 got my first attempt at a ‘ambush’ paint scheme. I gave it the same paint scheme as per the notes in my Jagdpanzer 38 “Hetzer” book by MBI. Sure, it’s a little bit stylised, but I love it! The 234/3 got a simple disruptive pattern in Citadel’s Goblin Green. I went and added some foliage – Woodland Scenics’ lichen. 251 234 front 251 234 rear

So, just gotta get them bikers done and the Recon game can happen…

3 Responses to “A Kubelwagen, a 251/22, a 263 and a 234/3 walk into a bar…”

  1. Paul said

    Again, you have done some brilliant work, the cam on the SdKfz 251/22 is fairly awesome.

    Well done.

    • Eastern Funker said

      The cam I did was very stylised but I’m pleased with it too. Thanks for your praise! I tried to leave a comment on your blog about your late War British boys, but it wouldn’t let me?

      The MBI book I used was talking about the Ambush scheme used on the Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer tank hunter, but I still felt it was applicable here: “The way the colours were applied was very interesting. The green and brown fields were applied over a circular stencil….Even the small, sharp-edged spots were not applied haphazardly, but their placement and size were governed by a set, regularly repeating system.”.

  2. Paul said

    Yes something has been going on with blooger lately…typical Germans quite anal even in applying DPM!

    Still once again great outcome. Keep it up.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

