Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer camouflage

August 29, 2010

I have literally just stopped painting and fired up my computer to bring you some photos of the camouflage I’ve just painted onto the UM Models Hetzers. Some of you may have thought “I thought he’d given up on those” – well, they have had lower priority lately, but yesterday and today they received a very generous portion of attention, with interest accrued during the recent quiet times.

Here’s how they are looking: .

My sourcebook, “Hetzer: Jagdpanzer 38” by V Francev, CK Kliment & M Kopecky (MBI, Praha, 2001) states that camouflage for the second lot of Hetzers was applied directly in the factories of BMM and Skoda Werke; “although the width of the colour fields and their shape differed slightly vehicle to vehicle, their placement always stayed the same” (p. 65). Oh well…my widths, shapes and placement all vary and each vehicle looks unique. I like this camouflage pattern and followed it as best as I could tank to tank…the green, brown and yellow all interlink on the historical units and at times I’ve tried to replicate that with these tanks, with varying success.

Hopefully these little tank destroyers will have all camouflage and detail painting finished by next weekend so I can varnish them and get them out of the way.

2 Responses to “Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer camouflage”

  1. Thanos said

    Nice painting my friend!

    Are you going to use any washes before you varnish them?

    They really look very good!

    T.

    • Eastern Funker said

      I use a weak wash around hatches only…I don’t put a wash on the whole vehicle.
      I will drybrush each vehicle twice, then put some ink as wet mud, then paint on dry mud, then finished.

Leave a Reply

