Best link of 2010

December 20, 2010

There have been some great discoveries and resources that I’ve linked to over the year. With Christmas almost upon us and my hobby-work time almost entirely on hold until Boxing Day and the few days off that I have between Christmas and New Year, I thought that I’d write a brief review of some of the best things I’ve linked to over the year.

There were eight links that I felt were good finds or great resources this year. They are as follows:

Italeri’s poll for feedback about what model kits they should make;

The Ultimate Model Paint Conversion Chart;

Tim’s Wargaming Stuff blog post on how to base trees that come with no bases;

On the Volkhov – a blog with German & Russian soldier reminiscences of action on the Volkhov front;

HistoryNet’s Operation Barbarossa: Albano Castelletto Recalls His Time with the Voloire Regiment on the Russian Front webpage;

Gary Kennedy’s Battalion Organisation during the Second World War website where I was able to learn about German reconaissance forces;

British Pathe’s website where you can see newsreels and film footage from the time; and lastly

Paul’s “Plastic Warriors” blog posts where he instructs how to model figures in trenches & foxholes.

While I’m strongly tempted to give the award for best overall link to British Pathe (who nicely commented on this blog and thanked me for using their content in a novel way), I’m actually going to give it to Skoblin’s On the Volkhov blog. As well as translations of reminiscences he also provides suitable photos when he can get them. It was very useful for understanding the terrain of the area and led to strengthening the detail I applied to a game this year. He wrote to me and said there will be more content someday, too.

Still, please have a look through all the others – there may be something there that you find particularly brilliant too.

If I don’t write another post between now and Christmas, I’d like to wish you all the wargamer’s Christmas blessing: “Peace on Earth, war on the table”.

2 Responses to “Best link of 2010”

  1. skoblin said

    Hello Eastern Funker

    I just noticed this post of yours. Thank you very much for the commendation! Very much appreciated. Unfortunately, due to an unexpected MA program, I have been unable to update my Volkhov blog. However, I am in the process of starting to write a book on the Volkhov battles, so there should be some more information posted when I can get to it. In the meantime, I can always be found on Armchair General forums.

    cheers and a warm Christmas season to you,
    skoblin

    • Eastern Funker said

      You’re welcome, Skoblin! Your blog was a very unexpected find but very interesting to read, with the photos adding immeasurably to it.
      I’d like to wish you well with your MA and with the book, and all the very best for the season. I’ll periodically check back on your blog for updates.

Leave a Reply

