Working on the second locomotive maintenance/storage shed: part 1

January 12, 2011

The weather here is not very conducive to painting or glueing so activity in the hobby room has pretty much ceased becuase things are taking much longer to dry. However it’s nowhere near as bad as up North.

I made a start on the second locomotive/engine shed on saturday when it was darned hot and dry.  I began here: . As I said in a previous post, I bought this and the one you’ve already seen a few days ago secondhand through a model railways shop. Both of them were extremely reasonably priced: – given that the Italeri ‘country house’ series cost 4-5 times that on average, this was practically free.

Out of the plastic bag, you have the ‘already-assembled and already-painted by the previous owner’ building plus the two doors: I particularly like the little tin-roofed add-on room at the back with the sodium-bulb lamp…really gives a great 1920s-1950s feel to the piece and in my mind grounds it definitely in the period I’m working with.

I was originally thinking about trying to remove the existing paint job but that is a very involving process – also I found with the first shed that simply and carefully applying a good spray-on undercoat covered and sealed the previous paint without any side reactions occurring. Removing the previous paint was thus unnecessary – it wasn’t doing any harm staying there and it’s removal would not add detail to the kit because it is not thickly coating the kit.

I prepared my spraypainting area – a section of cardboard box with extra cardboard to prevent the spraypaint wafting away too far and coating things it is not meant to and commenced undercoating with Citadel’s “Chaos Black” spray undercoat in small steps, first doing one external side: and then the other. The inside also has to be done:  . After painting all surfaces and letting it dry for a good while, I then inspected to see if I’d missed anything or if there was somewhere than needed a thicker coating.

When I was fully satisfied, I was left with this: .

Since then I realised I had to seal up some two holes in the roof that I’d overlooked and also had to cut off some excess plastic. I’ve also installed the missing brace for the fan that at first I thought I’d ignore. The building needs a little bit of respraying just to cover up where I’ve done work since, but as far as this blog is concerned, I’m up to the first stage of painting.

PS: I used Google’s Image search and found out who the manufacturer of these sheds are – Airfix! Have a look at this link. Thanks to DL McCarthy for having the information on his Airfix Model Railways website.

5 Responses to “Working on the second locomotive maintenance/storage shed: part 1”

  1. Hi,

    It’s a nice building, you can use it in practically any setting, as you say, from the 20s right up to the present.

    I have one of these I built 20 years ago, still sturdy as ever.

    It was in its day an Airfix kit, but it’s available now, along with a whole lot of other useful stuff, from a company in Wales called DAPOL.

    http://www.dapol.co.uk/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=9&Itemid=59

    Cheers,

    John

  2. Paul said

    Great work as per usual. These do look good. I do hope that your weather does an about turn mate, the images we are seeing are terrible…And we get alot of flooding over here.

    All the best Paul

  3. Thanos said

    Looking good so far!
    I wish the weather can help you a bit, in order to restore your life over there!
    Good luck!
    T.

Leave a Reply

