An extra truck for Truck Month…the Mercedes Kfz 72

February 19, 2011

A bonus for Truck Month – I’ve just finished Dullcoting and protecting my 1/76 or smaller white metal Mercedes Kfz 72!  This vehicle was discussed back on this post from last year. Here’s a photo without my camera’s flash:  . I don’t know how often it’s going to be used…it has a huge carrying and towing capacity but it’s actual size makes it look puny when next to other vehicles that it should actually dwarf…maybe it’ll only be used as a very special vehicle or objective. We’ll see.

Some of the heavy cars I got from eBay are finished too. Here’s a Platoon HQ vehicle, camera flash on:  and now without the flash:  and here are the section vehicles, which I suspect are Steyr 1500’s…   .

The white striping on the windows is my attempt at replicating what my opponent Peter had done when he had a go at painting reflections on the windows of some Rumanian vehicles. Here’s his blog post where you can see what he did. I was trying to represent the white patch/stripe of glare you see when you look at a car’s windows. I think what Peter’s done is probably better than what I did.

Quick whip-round of things still being worked on – engine shed as it was yesterday:  and here are the 251/1s and the Opel Blitz (with completed vehicles for me to copy from):  .

Today the humidity was pretty high…it lessened after 3pm so I decided to Dullcote at 5pm. Humidity seems to be staying constant now so I can do some painting after dinner.

5 Responses to “An extra truck for Truck Month…the Mercedes Kfz 72”

  1. Al said

    Nice wee additions there, like the HQ vehicles

  2. Paul said

    Nice work, you really are the truck month master mate.

  3. BIG RICH said

    Looks great. I enjoyed reading through your blog.

Leave a Reply

