First swap & sell for the year – ESSMC

March 14, 2011

Eastern Suburbs Scale Modelling Club had their annual swap & sell yesterday. I’ve attended at least three of these and don’t recall others having been held on a public holiday long weekend. Because we have today (Monday) off (Labour Day), not as many people stayed in Melbourne for the weekend and it was reflected in attendence. The queue didn’t stretch down and around as it has done every other time and you could walk around inside the venue without much difficulty (unlike last year where there were serious bottlenecks at either end of the venue…honestly, vendors selling books should be outside or in a seperate room because too many people crowd around their table and then spend at least five minutes flicking through titles causing bottlenecks as kit buyers not interested in books can’t get through the book mob to the other vendors without real pushing & shoving, whereas some people can approach and leave a vendor selling just model kits in about 15 seconds if they have a good eye and the vendor has nothing they want).

I was pretty disappointed with what I got. Not that I didn’t get anything – here’s a photo of what I got:  – 7 kits (all not started and complete, some still in shrinkwrapping) and two books for a total of $110, including my $2 entry fee.

I was disappointed because I was hoping to get some more Revell Panzer III & Panzer IV kits, enough to make up platoons with the kits I already have. If not those, some more Italeri StuGs (with the length & link tracks) or Revell StuGs . If not those, some Panzer IIs or Panzer 38s!

Still. I did get a nice Platoon HQ halftrack with a 28mm L61 sPzB 41 on it and one more 234/2.

2 Responses to “First swap & sell for the year – ESSMC”

  1. Paul said

    Not a bad haul anyway. The 251’s will keep you busy for sure.

    • Eastern Funker said

      Oh-ho, yeh. I already had 3, now I’ve got 7 Dragon kits, all waiting their turn.
      I’m wondering about Half-track Month sometime this year.

Leave a Reply

