After action review of the first game of 2011

April 12, 2011

This game was a little unusual in that there were four platoons per side. This was because when we were going to play this game back in January, it was going to be two players per side. On the night it was just Peter and me with a lot of vehicles and a lot of firepower on the table. Peter was playing the Americans for a change; I was playing Germans.

The scenario was a second trial of a reconnaissance encounter. A medium-sized village somewhere near Germany in the late Autumn of 1944. A gale-force wind was blowing. Both forces are trying to see if the train station and railyard are clear…since that is where most cover for armour would be. Here are some photos of the table:   and here are three close-ups, going from right side to left:    . As you can see, there was plenty of terrain to block LOS and provide hiding spots as well as slow up any gallant cavalry charges.

So to the game! Turn One was plain movement. Each player moved one platoon and then their opponent moved a platoon until all platoons had been ordered to do something. \Such is the way of resolving movement with an Encounter scenario in Panzerfaust: Armoured Fist. Here you can see some M8s coming on board:  .

Turn 2: more movement. Peter’s M8s and a platoon of Chaffees are making the most of no hostile fire:  .

Turn 3: I choose to move full and get some of my men into optimal positions. Sadly, as they do so they sight enemy armour –  – they see Chaffees trying to conceal themselves by sticking as close as possible to a small brick house past the railyards  . Now, as I’d moved full movement that turn, I couldn’t shoot. However, Peter could and did. His Chaffees open up on a 234/3 and knock it out. They also try to hit a 234/2 but miss – it had only just come into view and they hadn’t properly trained their guns on it. I have to make a Morale Test for my 234/3s – I roll a 10 – they are fine.

Turn 4 is when it got hot. Both forces are fully aware of each other. I have to make a desperate gamble to save my Panzer II Lynxes from the very powerful guns of a second platoon of Chaffees. I bring around my platoon of 251/9 Stummels to do so. It is at this juncture that Peter asks me if I have purchased HEAT ammo for all my guns, which I have neglected to do…damn!

My forces try to manoeuvre into good firing positions while using as little Movement to do so and Peter does the same, boldly racing his M8s down the road to flank me.

A 234/2 Puma gets a good shot off and tracks a Chaffee  and in retaliation a platoon-mate of the stricken Chaffee shoots and hits a 251/22, destroying it completely:  . True to my luck, or form, or character, call it what you will! – that 251/22 wasn’t just any 251/22 but my Company’s Command Vehicle. This was bad. To ease my concerns slightly another 251/22 knocks the gun out of action on a Chaffee and the Chaffee crew bail, but regardless it still means I have to make a Morale Test for the whole company and the there is a good chance the game will end right then and there. I roll a 7…after extensive modifications it is a 2, which means the whole company is Shaken. I roll a single D6 to see how many turns they are Shaken and get 2. Not so bad. Across the table a 251/9 is hit and brews up – the armour they have is no defence at all to a Chaffee gun. A 234/3 who had turned 90 degrees is able to knock out an M8  , even though it was racing along the road. End of a tumultuous turn for me.

Turn 5. Due to so many enemy AFVs being within 400 metres (40cm) of my forces and my forces currently being Shaken, my troops must all withdraw. Peter checks the rules and realises that there is no discussion of what speed my men must withdraw at, so I can withdraw as slowly as possible. Two more 251/9s are destroyed  and the Morale Test gets a flee result. I then have to test the remainders of the Company and they too fail Morale, so my bloodied and battered troops flee the scene. Just as well, as at the rail yard the Americans had massed for a big push:  .

This game was played with 1/72 and 1/76 scale forces. Most of my forces were plastic, but the Lynxes were resin and some of Peter’s were resin.

I lose again and once again my badly placed commander dies too early. I don’t know how I can fix that situation apart from play ‘out of character’ and put my Commander at the back of the force.

11 Responses to “After action review of the first game of 2011”

  1. Peter Stone said

    Hey man,
    Great write-up and photos. I really enjoyed the game, especially running regular Americans instead of conscript Soviets.
    I think one thing you could have done was to either send the Puma’s up the road, or even the Lynxs. That would have exposed my flank and the M8s would have been unable to stop the Pumas.
    But you also really need to work on concealing your HQs….

    • Eastern Funker said

      Concealing my HQ doesn’t seem like a proper thing to do, it doesn’t seem to be ‘in character’.

  2. Peter Stone said

    What would you like to try next?
    One idea is 1940 France, I’ve got plenty of French tanks, but at 50% less pv because of poor conscripts, we would need to do encounter or French defending.
    Germans would be 38(t), Pz III E, Pz IV D, armored cars etc. (Though artillery, at least lots of mortars, would be needed too.) Every time a French unit gets hit by artillery they take a morale test, and they often fail.

    • Eastern Funker said

      I’ve got an unpainted StuG IIIC, 3 unpainted Pz III and 3 unpainted Pz II…what would you prefer I work on for a France game?

  3. Al said

    Nice table, models and figures, good write up too. Agreed, try something early war

  4. Paul said

    Good show, shame about the loss but someone always needs to come second.

    Nice shots and report.

    Regards Paul

    • Eastern Funker said

      Thanks mate!
      I don’t mind company commanders dying, but they should die last and heroically, not before they fire once in anger!

  5. Peter Stone said

    One company of 14 x French tanks = 650 PV. So probably attack defense? Probably need to add a company of French infantry to get my points up a bit.
    I’ve got 5 x Pz 38(t)early, 10? x Pz III E, and I’ll have to check on the early StuGs. Pz II would be fairly useless, so sure, go ahead and do your Pz III and StuG.

  6. Peter Stone said

    Hmm, late April or sometime in May perhaps?
    Look at a German force of around 2000 PV, two platoons of tanks and one of infantry, perhaps, with mortars. 76mm artillery if you can afford it, or even a Stuka, that’s only 150 PV. (Only problem is that the Stuka is hard to call in.) -2 on morale when it attacks a unit tho.

Leave a Reply

