The 7.92 mm Pz B39 – what is it?

July 4, 2011

Whilst doing some bedtime reading a couple of weeks ago, I was struck by something I’d never come across before in my years of WWII wargaming and history research. I was checking my copy of the Encyclopedia of German Tanks of World War Two: The complete illustrated dictionary of German battle tanks, armoured cars, self-propelled guns and semi-tracked vehicles by Peter Chamberlain and Hilary Doyle (1999 edn) about the Sd.Kfz. 251/7 (as you do at bedtime) and it states that the armament for said engineering vehicle are 2 7.92mm MG (either 34 or 42 models) and one Pz B39. I didn’t know what a Pz B39 was! I knew what a 28mm sPzB41 was, but not what a Pz B39 was. I was floored.

A search of the Internet turned up an informative answer. The Small Arms Review magazine’s website has sample articles, one of which is all about the Pz B39. Lucky! The Pz B39 is an anti-tank rifle. I knew the Germans had them…I’d just never come across any of the specifics about their AT rifles.

So, this is educational for all of us. I present to you the sample article from  Small Arms Review (vol. 6, no. 8, May 2003), 7.92 mm Panzerbüchse (P.z.B.) 39 German Anti-Tank Rifle – small calibre tank buster by Frank Iannamico.

One Response to “The 7.92 mm Pz B39 – what is it?”

  1. […] is the 7.92 mm Panzerbüchse (P.z.B.) 39 German Anti-Tank Rifle (or the PzB 38 or PzB 40)…I’ve written and linked to outside detail about the PzB 39 anti-tank rifle on this post from J…. Here’s a close-up of one of my four completed PzB 39 gunners: (I’m permitted a […]

Leave a Reply

