I’m a lumberjack and I’m OK…

July 24, 2011

With the strains of Monty Python’s Flying Circus in the background, I commence the final of the series of entries I’ve been writing about using tree armatures to make trees with. The last time I posted about these was to report my failures on May 17 this year.

I had resolved to try putting lichen on the armatures initially glued in placed with PVA glue, then sprayed with watered-down PVA. So, I began by gluing everything together: . This time, the film cannister lids and armatures were glued onto the sheet styrene using PVA, as I discovered that the Revell Contacta glue was warping the sheet styrene early in June. So, I had tree trunks fixed onto bases: . Then I had to search through the lichen for suitable clumps: . I can’t describe how I chose the pieces, except to say that the fluffy rounded top bits obviously went onto the top of the armatures or where I wanted to show new growth on a big limb. I tried to select pieces that were stretchy thin “sheets” that I could wrap around the armature and cover as much as possible with, but I also put on smaller clumps here and there so that each tree didn’t look too uniform in appearance. PVA was thickly brushed on to each single limb, to a depth of 1.5cm, or until a fork was reached (or both): (you can see a blurry big drop of PVA waiting to have lichen pressed onto it). I hoped that it would be a quick process – the first tree seemed to be done fairly promptly: but when I finished all 6 an hour had gone by. I left them overnight, hoping to spray them with watered-down PVA today, but the weather was against me. So, more tree updates as they sprout.

***

I’m working on too many things at once again. I am slowly preparing enough figures for a company of Panzer Grenadiers. I didn’t have any suitable Platoon Commanders (Sergeants?) so I cut MP-40s off excess numbers of one pose and glued them into the empty hands of another pose: .

***

The Panzer IIIs are having their tracks painted. This involves two painting stages and four wash stages, so it’s taking some time to do.

 

5 Responses to “I’m a lumberjack and I’m OK…”

  1. Paul said

    Good to see the epic tree building is still in motion. The figs look good with the Mp38/40 combo. Might try that myself.

    Great post.

    Regards Paul

    • Eastern Funker said

      They are HAT machinegunner commanders. The MP-40s come from the basic Revell/Italeri German infantry set, from the guy carrying his MP40 in one hand and a landmine in the other.

  2. Al said

    Nice work, you can never have too many trees

    • Eastern Funker said

      I’ve got two A3 photocopy paper boxes full, but have been thinking of expanding to a third. Some of the trees I’ve done myself look better than commercial products, which are always so uniform that they look unnatural.

  3. Peter said

    The trees are looking great. Much better than my two boxes of very uniform K&M trees. And I know what you mean about trying to find enough figures to be platoon leaders etc. For me it was trying to get enough Soviet LMG men.

Leave a Reply

