Airfix Willys’ Jeep; and what’s on the table

February 5, 2012

I’ve been working on an Airfix Willys’ Jeep (proper name for the Willys’ Jeep being Willys MB US Army Jeep) that I bought at a swap ‘n sell at a non-swap-‘n-sell price (in other words, regular retail price). I also opted to do up its trailer, inspired by some of Paul from Plastic Soldiers‘ work with the same kit last year. Here’s what my interpretation looks like: . A little dustier than intended…I need to watch that. I’ve been getting carried away with dust lately…a post coming up in the next week or so will help you see what I mean about excessive dustiness on my kits.

This is bigger than the existing Willys’ Jeep that I have, leading me to suspect that the existing one I have is a Matchbox kit.

What purpose will this Jeep serve in my games? Well, as a target for my Germans when I’m playing Germans; as a HQ vehicle or recon vehicle if I’m playing Late War Soviets (when they had lots of Lend-Lease stuff like Willys’ Jeeps).

***

As for what’s on my Hobby Table right at the moment, here are the vehicles currently under production: .

 

7 Responses to “Airfix Willys’ Jeep; and what’s on the table”

  1. stuart said

    The dust looks great and very realistic – not overdone at all. I remember our vehicles being like this on summer maneuvers in Germany – and that was in peacetime! One thing you should do though is mask off the areas where the windshield wipers work as that would be kept clear. Great work!

    • Eastern Funker said

      I stuffed up the windshield wipers with this kit quite heavily and couldn’t correct it…so it’s not my best work, this kit.

  2. Paul said

    Nice work. The Soviets received over 50,000 JEEPs during the war, and I do not think you have to leave it for late war games. Mid war would probably be all right.

    It is interesting the the Red Army seemed to leave the US Army serial numbers on the bonnets.

    http://www.o5m6.de/willys_mb.html

    The weathering looks spot on mate.

    Well done

    • Eastern Funker said

      Thanks Paul, and that link is to a very good site, isn’t it? I haven’t looked at it for some time…good to be reminded it exists!
      You’re probably right, I could probably sneak it in from Mid-Late 1942 onwards…

  3. Peter said

    Great work, especially the Soviet driver, and I like the weathering, quite relevant if for Russia. Their roads in summer were complete dust bowls. (Ask Napoleon and the Germans…)
    One minor suggestion regarding dry brushing the dried mud/dust, is to dry brush up from the bottom of the vehicle’s front, sides, and rear, and to dry brush inwards on mudguards and the top.

    • Eastern Funker said

      Yes, it’s something that my brushes don’t always let me do so well…I need to locate some good ‘drybrushing only’ brushes that aren’t too expensive.

      • Peter said

        I use a size ‘0’ or ‘1’ taklon brush for drybrushing, the taklon brushes don’t shed their bristles. They do curl at the end, but that’s actually good for drybrushing.

Leave a Reply

