I’ll soon be sampling The Plastic Soldier Company Ltd.’s wares

September 8, 2012

It’s been quite a while since I bought any wargaming stuff off eBay. I ended the drought in the wee hours of this morning, by winning two boxes of Easy Assembly 1/72nd Panzer IV Tank (in 20mm / 1/72 scale) made by The Plastic Soldier Company Ltd.

Two boxes gives me six vehicles, but I really only need 5, for a Heavy Platoon of Panzer IV F1’s with the short barrel/L 24 75mm gun, like the vehicle you see in this colour photo here. Then I can have a platoon to support my infantry as they invade Russia.

I’ve only heard good things about The Plastic Soldier Company’s products, and of course I’ll let you all know how I go with them here.

Now, it’ll take some time to come from Europe, but not to worry, I’ve got plenty that I’m working on and finishing off at the moment. Another post very soon!

 

9 Responses to “I’ll soon be sampling The Plastic Soldier Company Ltd.’s wares”

  1. Stephen said

    I have some of their Russian infantry – not yet off the sprue – and they seem really well detailed. One of our club members has a couple of boxes of the Russians and they come up really nicely.

  2. DaveM said

    I really wish somebody would bring these into Australia to save having to buy them on-line. I know we’d doubtless get gouged on price but at least you’d get them straight in your hot little hands.

    Be aware that there are one or two minor niggles with accuracy due to compromises in providing 4 variants from a single kit, but IIRC these don’t affect the F1.

    If you haven’t seen it, Dan did a great little write up on his blog:
    http://gunnerswargamming.blogspot.com.au/2011/06/wip-psc-p-iv-f1-and-gs.html

    Cheers, Dave

    • Eastern Funker said

      Hi Dave, there are a few people bringing them into Australia, but the only one I know of well is Dean Bedlington from Olympian Games in Canberra, and his website is http://www.olympian-games.com/

      Like me, he’s just had a new person enter his life so he’s a bit busy at the moment (I have an order on hold with him but am in no hurry as my own new person is taking up most of my time at the moment) so if it’s no rush, just contact Dean and wait for him to get some free time. Otherwise, I think there’s a shop in Melbourne who stocks some of their stuff.

      • DaveM said

        That’s interesting. I haven’t seen them in any of my usual haunts but I’m not getting down to Melbourne so often. Do you know which shop that is? Otherwise I’ll try your Canberra contact.

      • Eastern Funker said

        I’ll ask around and see which shop it is. Remember too, Dean’s just had a baby come into his life too, so he may not respond for a while. But he does respond in the end.

  3. Thanos said

    Its a great kit mate. You’ll enjoy building them and painting the finished models. 🙂 Good luck and have fun!

  4. Thomas said

    PSC is good stuff. The right amount of detail for a solid wargaming kit that builds up quickly and paints beautifully.

Leave a Reply

