Trying to model a coat of winter camouflage whitewash on my 1/76 scale Wespes

January 5, 2011

With the 1/76 Wespes up to the detail stage of painting, I chose to model them with a coat of whitewash applied as Winter camouflage.

I have had one prior attempt at modelling Winter Whitewash, which you can read about in my 29 November 2009 post, Wespe SPG with a coat of Winter whitewash.  Back then, I provided the historical information that “While some lucky AFVs received very solid, evenly applied Winter camouflage coats using air-compressed sprayguns, many had thinned out or poorly-mixed whitewash applied in varying fashions – often using ordinary brushes but also using brooms and even dipping rags into the mixture then smacking the rag against the vehicle was not unknown. The whitewash often didn’t stay on for very long, either, leading to all sorts of streaking and fading.”

I chose to paint that Wespe in 2009  reflecting the wearing off of the whitewash, so I did it looking streaked and smudged. I did this by dipping my brush into the paint, letting it almost dry, then using exaggerated quick brush strokes to apply it.

This time I’m doing it differently. Here’s two close-up photos of how the ‘whitewash’ is looking so far: . This effect has been obtained by loading an expendable brush (because the brush bristles will be forced out of shape permanently – the brush in future could only again be used for this sort of painting technique or maybe some drybrushing) with lots of paint and then dabbing the paint on hard, the brushbeing at right angles to the surface being painted. You also work backwards over previously painted sections, trying to crush as many bubbles that form as possible.

It does mean that the whitewash looks freshly applied, but I have two techniques for modelling whitewash now and will try the first one on something else in the future.

 

4 Responses to “Trying to model a coat of winter camouflage whitewash on my 1/76 scale Wespes”

  1. Paul said

    Whitewash is a nightmare and I avoid it like the plague, so you are a braver man than me. I think it still looks a little thick, or maybe it’s the closeup of the shot.

    Maybe a thicker or bigger brush, say a No 3 and a enamel using the same techinque with the drybrush effect.

    You brave brave soul!

    • Eastern Funker said

      It is thick, I don’t deny it, hence why I’m declaring that it is recently applied, not how it would look in the first days of Spring…
      I can do it lightler and messier next time by not working back over it so harshly and also loading the brush with less paint…if we have “Truck month”, maybe I’ll dry the this third techn ique I’ve outlined just here with that Kfz 72 (http://716heer.org/html/kfz_72s_outside.html)…

  2. Peter Stone said

    Hey EF,
    For white-washing I would recommend getting a relatively largely sable, eg, size 3? dabbing in acrylic white paint, then wiping off almost all the paint, dry brushing the vehicle, and then keep putting on additional coats until you are happy with it. That way it won’t cover up any details such as engine slats etc. I did an American truck in 15mm like that, looks awesome. I’ll have to send you the photos.
    Regards
    Peter

  3. Peter Stone said

    As promised, here’s the link to the photos of the truck:

    part of a US 1944 theme

Leave a Reply

