120 historical photos of Opel Blitz/опель блиц trucks

February 7, 2011

I’ve been doing some research for Truck Month and by far the most helpful website about the Opel Blitz/опель блиц that I’ve found is the Oldtimer Gallery’s Opel Company section run by Andrei Bogomolov.

The gallery is a gallery of photos (approximately 120 of them), many in black & white but a few in colour (from Signal magazine or private collections), from the period or close after.
It is comprehensive, showing as many models and variants as possible: truck bodies, bus bodies, Sanitätskraftwagens, Kastenlieferwagens… very useful for dioramas, but for us wargamers, for seeing paint schemes and camouflage patterns.

***

The Roden Opel Blitz kit I’ve been working on has been delayed but yesterday I had some free time and caught up. Parts of the chassis are complete, I’ve done the majority of the tray and have made inroads with the cab. I’m now going to paint all the remaining pieces of the cab while they sit on the sprues, as I won’t be able to later…the brush can’t reach in to the the seats, the floor and parts of the cab interior.

The steam engine/locomotive shed has had to wait while I got more Scorched Brown – I ran out trying to make some homemade brown ink and need two coats of Scorched Brown for the roof tiles.

I’ve also been working on those resin Horch or Steyr heavy cars plus a platoon of  Italeri 251/1s, so there is a lot of half-finished stuff to be juggled on my hobby tables at the moment. Still, Truck Month has priority so the Opel Blitz is what I’m trying to spend most of my time on.

2 Responses to “120 historical photos of Opel Blitz/опель блиц trucks”

  1. Paul said

    Good work, I picked up some info from this site.

  2. Eastern Funker said

    Glad to help.

Leave a Reply

